NASA Awards Prize Postdoctoral Fellowships for 2020

This entry was posted in Space Administration on by .

NASA has selected 24 new Fellows for its prestigious NASA Hubble Fellowship Program (NHFP). The program enables outstanding postdoctoral scientists to pursue independent research in any area of NASA Astrophysics, using theory, observation, experimentation, or instrument development. Nasa awards prize postdoctoral News NASA Awards Prize Postdoctoral Fellowships for 2020Hubble Site3 hours agoTHE NHFP IS ONE OF THE HIGHLIGHTS OF NASA'S PURSUIT OF EXCELLENCE IN SPACE SCIENCE, AND PRESERVES THE LEGACY OF NASA'S PREVIOUS ... Each fellowship provides the awardee up to three years of support at a university or research center of their choosing in the United States.

* * *

The NHFP is one of the highlights of NASA’s pursuit of excellence in space science, and preserves the legacy of NASA’s previous postdoctoral fellowship programs ‘ the Hubble, Einstein and Sagan Fellowships. Once selected, fellows are named to one of three sub-categories corresponding to three broad scientific questions NASA has sought to answer about the universe:

Reference: Visit Source (Read Article)

Were you following this:

Prize-winning research reveals pathway to improving regenerative medicine

Joana Neves is the 2019 grand prize winner of the Sartorius & Science Prize for Regenerative Medicine & Cell Therapy, for work that offers a promising approach to improve the outcome of regenerative stem cell-based therapies aimed at delaying age-related degenerative diseases.

Using the fruit fly Drosophila as a model organism, Neves discovered an evolutionarily conserved mechanism of tissue repair – immune modulation by the protein MANF – which she harnessed to restore visual function in old, blind mice with retinal disease.

The findings identify and help to address a major challenge imposed by the natural aging process, which has limited the clinical application of regenerative medicine approaches to treat those most likely to suffer from chronic and often debilitating degenerative conditions – elderly patients.

Publisher: EurekAlert!
Date: 2020-03-12 04:00:00 GMT/UTC
Twitter: @EurekAlert
Reference: Visit Source (Read Article)

Prize-winning research offers a promising approach to improve regenerative medicine

Date: 2020-03-12T18:59:00.0000000-04:00
Twitter: @NewsMedical
Reference: Visit Source (Read Article)

Three Extraordinary Indian American Astrophysicists Named Inaugural Fellows of American Astronomical Society

Sarbani Basu, professor and chair of the Department of Astronomy at Yale, was named an inaugural Fellow by the American Astronomical Society. ( photo)

* * *

Sangeeta Malhotra of NASA Goddard Space Flight Center also received a Fellow honor by the AAS. ( photo)

* * *

The American Astronomical Society, the major organization of professional astronomers in North America, Feb. 25 announced its inaugural class of AAS Fellows, with a trio of Indian Americans among the cohort.

Among the more than 200 Fellows named were Yale University’s Sarbani Basu, Deepto Chakrabarty of MIT, and Sangeeta Malhotra of the NASA Goddard Space Flight Center.

Publisher: India West
Author: India West Staff Reporter
Twitter: @IndiaWest
Reference: Visit Source (Read Article)

Prize Recipient

“For contributions to neutron star astrophysics, including the theoretical interpretation of X-ray emission from magnetars and determination of accurate masses and radii that yield constraints on the equation of state; and for her outstanding contributions to the public understanding of science.”

Feryal Ozel received her bachelor degree in physics and applied mathematics from Columbia University in 1996 and her PhD from Harvard University in 2002. Prior to joining the faculty at the University of Arizona as an assistant professor in 2005, she was a member at the Institute for Advanced Study at Princeton, where she also held a NASA Hubble Postdoctoral Fellowship. She became an associate professor in 2010 and holds appointments in the Departments of Astronomy and Physics.Ozel is a theoretical astrophysicist whose primary research interests include the physics of neutron stars and black holes, as well as the formation of supermassive black holes and galaxies in the early Universe. Ozel is a member of the American Astronomical Society and the American Physical Society. Her awards and honors include the Bart J. Bok Prize, the Lucas Award in Astronomy, Turkish Scientific and Research Council Scholar Award, the Harvard Radcliffe Institute Fellowship, and a Berkeley Miller Institute Professorship. She frequently appears in TV documentaries on PBS, the History Channel, CNN International, and Turkish Radio and Television as well as in many scientific articles in the popular press.

Twitter: @apsphysics
Reference: Visit Source (Read Article)

Happening on Twitter


Greetings Earthlings: Cloaking was activated. The data presented above may one day be zapped to another dimension. Just thought you should be aware. It should be alright to step abroad. It is safe.